PinknMascara's Blog

My At Home Remedy for Toenail Fungus

Posted on: August 16, 2012

Are you one of those people who suffers from disgusting toenail fungus? You are not alone, I was too. Many people have it, and are looking for a fix. I noticed it a few years ago, so of course I made an appointment with a podiatrist, foot doctor. He put me on a pill, which was outrageously expensive, and had horrible long term side effects. So I tried this, and of course it did not work. I decided to look on the Internet and I discovered many other people had this issue with their nails. So I tried one of the remedies I ran across, bleach. In order for this to work you have to daily apply this to each toenail until the fungus is gone. The nail grows out 6-8 months, so endurance is key. Stick with it.

Here is what I did: I bought a small bottle of bleach to just leave in my bathroom for convenience. I waited until fall, October, to take off the nail polish from my toes. Once I took my first shower, you could just soak your feet in warm water too, I was able to start with the bleach. The goal of the warm water is to soften the nail and make it more porous, allowing the bleach to penetrate to the nail bed where the fungus actually lives. If your nail is really thick, I would suggest filling the top down to make the nail thinner, to ensure the bleach can get through the nail. I used a Q-tip wet with bleach as soon as I stepped out of the shower, everyday. Some days I would apply it twice. Making sure the nail was able to grow out, and clipping them as short as I could, I did this for 6 months. The goal is to kill the fungus with the bleach and clip the fungus nail off. By May my toes looked great!

The bleach makes them look better after about a month, but remember to keep applying it or the fungus will be right back!

So here is your fix it, for the price of a small jug of bleach.. about 3 bucks! I can’t tell you how relieved I am to see those normal nails when I remove my polish, and I hope you can say that soon!

Leave a Reply

