PinknMascara's Blog

The Salon Messed Up My Hair: How I Handled It..

Posted on: August 16, 2012

How did this happen? My roots are red and my hair is a rich brown, Not What I Paid For!! To say the least, I was upset. I didn’t notice it while I was at the salon, so I paid and tipped as usual. It wasn’t until I went to pick up my 9 year-old sister, who is brutally honest as kids are, that I realized there was a problem.

“I said do you like my hair sis?” She says, “well it’s kind of a different color here at the top.” Immediately I’m panicked, thinking now what. I wait until I can look at it thoroughly in my mirror, before I decide what to do. In the meantime, I ask my husband if he notices the different colors, and he does. Now I know it is a problem, because as every woman knows men don’t recognize much.

So do I call the salon to get it fixed? I started debating at this point of what to do, because I hate being a nuisance. However I did pay $100 for this two-toned hair, and I do need a professional to fix it. Nervously I call the salon, explain the problem, as nice as I can. Trying not to sound as panicked as I really was, I tried to use understanding terms, such as “my hair pulls red anyways” and “it does it all the time”. To be honest it really does, if I do it myself!! So they make me an appointment for the next day. I just keep thinking, I don’t want to be charged for this.

I’ve always been told you can catch more flies with honey than you can vinegar. I was upset mind you, but I wanted to make sure to get a good fix this time around too.Keeping in mind I didn’t want to be charged for this either, and even professionals make mistakes. So I was as sweet as I could be to my hairdresser, she looked at it and then told me, “Yes, and I’m glad you came in so soon, so we can fix it”.

She puts a toner on my roots, and after a rinse, my hair was one color root to tip. So after I step up from the chair she says “Your paid for today, you owe nothing”. I thanked her, and despite the return trip, I decided to tip her. In deciding to tip, I was thinking of how nice she was with not trying to charge me again. Also I realized she used her time and energy to fix it, she deserved a tip.

The lesson ladies, don’t be afraid to call your salon to get your hair fixed. Remember to tip again if they fix your hair, and are kind to you.

Leave a Reply

